Nashville, TN (November 21, 2022)
The Evangelical Christian Publishers Association (ECPA) recently announced the winners of The Christy Award for 2022 in nine Christian fiction categories, plus the Book of the Year and the program’s debut award: The Amplify Award. Winning novels were announced by a host of the genre’s acclaimed authors including Amanda Dykes, Christine Kindberg, Robin W. Pearson, Sarah Fernandez Rhoads, Becky Wade, Chris Fabry, and Amanda Cox.

Returning to Nashville, for an in-person dinner gala at Lipscomb University’s George Shinn Center, the event gathered approximately 150 publishers, authors, and fiction fans. The event followed the sixth annual Art of Writing conference for authors, publishers, and storytellers for training and connection.

For the first time in the award program’s history, the Book of the Year was presented to the same author who won it the previous year: Amanda Cox, who was the evening’s featured speaker. In 2021 her debut novel The Edge of Belonging (Revell) won the Book of the Year and the First Novel category. This year, her second novel, The Secret Keepers of Old Depot Grocery (Revell) took the prize. Cox, a therapist-turned-novelist, also took home the General Fiction award for the same book.

Hosted by award-winning novelist Chris Fabry, the Gala also featured the presentation of the program’s first Amplify Award to: In Search of a Prince by Toni Shiloh (Bethany House) for its excellence in storytelling, which borrowed from the author’s ethnic heritage from West Africa. The Amplify Award was created by publishers and agents to elevate and recognize under-represented ethnic stories of excellence, and their authors.

In presenting the award, program consultant Jevon Bolden (Embolden Media Group) stated: “Our judges agreed that it was hard not to be overtaken by the superb storytelling, world-building, and character development that Shiloh mastered with seemingly extraordinary ease and flow. We found it to be an outstanding representation of literary excellence and an authentic ‘own voices’ story that stood out in every way. We find it a unique privilege, as an ethnically diverse judge panel, to contribute toward a deeper read of books by BIPOC authors and look forward to continuing to amplify their voices and stories.”

Also a first… Sharon Hinck’s final installment of The Dancing Realms Trilogy, Windward Shore (Enclave) won in the Speculative category, making it the first full series (3 books) that have each won a Christy Award.

Presenting The Christy Award winners for 2022:

The Secret Keepers of Old Depot Grocery, Amanda Cox
Revell/ Baker Publishing Group, 9780800737412

In Search of a Prince, Toni Shiloh
Bethany House/ Baker Publishing Group, 9780764238956

All That Really Matters, Nicole Deese
Bethany House/ Baker Publishing Group, 9780764234965

All That Is Secret, Patricia Raybon
Tyndale House Publishers, 9781496458384

The Secret Keepers of Old Depot Grocery, Amanda Cox
Revell/ Baker Publishing Group, 9780800737412

Drawn by the Current, Jocelyn Green
Bethany House/ Baker Publishing Group, 9780764233326

Until Leaves Fall in Paris, Sarah Sundin
Revell/ Baker Publishing Group, 9780800736378

Aftermath, Terri Blackstock
Thomas Nelson Publishers, 9780310345978

A Texas Christmas Carol (in Under the Texas Mistletoe), Karen Witemeyer
Bethany House/ Baker Publishing Group, 9780764239311

Windward Shore, Sharon Hinck
Enclave Publishing, a division of Oasis Family Media, 9781621841678

Shadow, Kara Swanson
Enclave Publishing, a division of Oasis Family Media, 9781621841739

Check out more great articles

About The Author

FamilyFiction is an information hub for all fans of Christian storytelling. We offer the latest news, interviews, and upcoming releases from your favorite Christian authors and filmmakers!