Lynette Eason is the bestselling author of Collateral Damage, Acceptable Risk, and Active Defense, as well as Protecting Tanner Hollow and the Blue Justice, Women of Justice, Deadly Reunions, Hidden Identity, and Elite Guardians Series. She is the winner of three ACFW Carol Awards, the Selah Award, and the Inspirational Reader’s Choice Award, among others. She is a graduate of the University of South Carolina and has a master’s degree in education from Converse College.

In this interview Lynette talks about her latest novel, Hostile Intent, which is the fourth book in her Danger Never Sleeps Series.

FF: Hostile Intent is the gripping conclusion to your Danger Never Sleeps Series. What ties the four books together?
The four books are tied together by four friends. Three who met in the military and one who was already friends with the Acceptable Risk heroine, Sarah Denning.

FF: The military is an underlying theme throughout your series. How did you become so well versed in military careers?
Research, research, research. Seriously, I know people in the military, and they were more than generous with their time in allowing me to pick their brains. One friend even read different scenes and gave me feedback on how to fix them. That was such a blessing.

FF: What was the inspiration behind Hostile Intent?
There was no real inspiration that I can think of. With all of my stories, I generally just let my imagination go to work. I also call on brainstorming friends to help. Usually, with those two things, I can put together a decent plot.

FF: Your books often feature strong female protagonists. Do you have a favorite character in the Danger Never Sleeps Series?
I think I’ll have to go with Sarah from Acceptable Risk, although Ava from Hostile Intent runs a close second. But Sarah is strong. She doesn’t hold back and is no one’s doormat. I love how she doesn’t let anyone define who she should be and fights to be her own person. She’s just a cool character.

FF: What do you hope readers can learn from Hostile Intent?
I think it’s safe to say that we all have burdens and baggage. We have first, second, and third impressions about people we know. Let’s face it, we all make judgments, but the truth is, we never know all there is to know about a person—or what their struggles are. I hope Hostile Intent will remind readers not to judge too swiftly or too harshly and to look beneath the surface of others’ actions.

FF: When did you become interested in writing romantic suspense novels?
I’ve always loved writing. Even in school, I’d rather have an essay question than a multiple choice one. When I was in the eighth grade, I tried writing a novel but gave up because it was too hard. Then when I was a young mother, I was home alone a lot, as my husband traveled with his job. I decided that it would be a good distraction to try to write a novel again. So, I did. And I actually finished that one. Then I wrote another and another. The fourth one was published in 2007. And, as they say, the rest is history.

FF: What are you working on next?
I’m currently working on the first book in the next series.

Book Summary:
Secrets are about to be revealed . . . but will the guilty be brought to justice?

Ava Jackson entered the military shortly after high school, but her mother’s illness has forced her to request an early discharge. She already lost her father while deployed, and there’s no way she’s going to let her mother die alone. But after a visit to the nursing facility where her mother lives, Ava is attacked walking back to her car. Fortunately, FBI Special Agent Caden Denning arrives in time to help fight off her attacker.

Caden reveals to Ava that she may hold the key to the murders of three families, and he needs her help before anyone else is harmed. The hits show a pattern, and clearly the killer has an agenda. But if Caden and Ava can’t discover what it is, Ava may be next on the hit list.

Hostile Intent
Danger Never Sleeps Series #4
Lynette Eason
Genres: Mystery, Suspense, Romance
Release Date: August 3, 2021

ISBN-10: 0800729374
ISBN-13: 978-0800729370


Buy Hostile Intent from the FF Store HERE!


Buy Hostile Intent from Amazon HERE!

Check out more great articles

About The Author

Lynette Eason is the bestselling author of several romantic suspense series. She is the winner of three ACFW Carol Awards, the Selah Award, and the Inspirational Reader's Choice Award, among others. She is a graduate of the University of South Carolina and has a master's degree in education from Converse College. Eason lives in South Carolina with her husband and two children.