The Christy Award® celebration webcast featured bestselling authors Lisa Wingate, Chris Fabry, and the 2019 winning authors announcing the 2020 winners

Debut novel “Whose Waves These Are” by Amanda Dykes wins The Christy Award® Book of the Year

Multi Christy Award winning authors Tamera Alexander and Steven James inducted into the Christy Award Hall of Fame

November 12, 2020, the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association (ECPA) announced the winners of The Christy Award® in nine fiction categories during the Christy Award Winners Webcast. The online event was viewed by an estimated 500+ authors and writers, publishers and industry professionals, readers and fans, to honor the year’s best in Christian fiction. The event culminated a five-week Art of Writing webinar series led by authors and publishers sharing tips and inspiration for writers.

The webcast featured New York Times bestselling author LISA WINGATE as keynote and award-winning novelist CHRIS FABRY as emcee. Last year’s winning authors in each category announced this year’s winners, including: Patti Callahan, David Rawlings, Katie Ganshert, Becky Wade, Terri Blackstock, Connilyn Cossette, Kathy Tyers Gillin, Melanie Dickerson, Steven James, and Tamera Alexander.

All three of this year’s debut novel finalists took home Christy Awards:

  • Whose Waves These Are by Amanda Dykes (Bethany House) was awarded the top honor of the 2020 Christy Book of the Year. Dykes’ first full length book also won in the General Fiction category.
  • First Novel finalist, The Means That Make Us Strangers by Christine Kindberg (Bellflower Press) won in the Young Adult category.
  • A Long Time Comin’ by Robin W. Pearson (Tyndale House Publishers) won the First Novel category.

The 2020 Christy Award Finalist Authors

“Fiction writers informed by their faith are bringing a new kind of hope to the world through their stories,” said ECPA President & CEO Stan Jantz in congratulating the winners. “In particular, the recognition given to all three First Novels, including the Christy Book of the Year, illustrates the depth of talent emerging in this space.”

The 2020 Christy Award winners are:

Whose Waves These Are
Amanda Dykes
Bethany House/ Baker Publishing Group
Buy the book from our store!

RELATED: Contemporary Q&A: Amanda Dykes (Whose Waves These Are)

Now and Then and Always
Melissa Tagg
Larkspur Press

RELATED: 40 Essential Christian Romance Authors – 2019 Edition

A Long Time Comin’
Robin W. Pearson
Tyndale House Publishers
Buy the book from our store!

VIDEO: Robin W. Pearson | ‘A Long time Comin’

Whose Waves These Are
Amanda Dykes
Bethany House/ Baker Publishing Group
Buy the book from our store!

RELATED: Contemporary Q&A: Amanda Dykes (Whose Waves These Are)

The Medallion
Cathy Gohlke
Tyndale House Publishers
Buy the book from our store!

RELATED: Classic Christian Fiction for a New Generation: An Essay by Cathy Gohlke

The Painted Castle
Kristy Cambron
Thomas Nelson
Buy the book from our store!

The Girl Behind the Red Rope
Ted Dekker and Rachelle Dekker
Revell/ Baker Publishing Group
Buy the book from our store!

RELATED: Speculative Author Interview: Ted and Rachelle Dekker—Sea of Fears

A Christmas Haven: An Amish Christmas Romance
Cindy Woodsmall and Erin Woodsmall
WaterBrook Press
Buy the book from our store!

RELATED: Christmas Author Interview: Cindy Woodsmall and Erin Woodsmall – A Beacon of Promise

Hidden Current
Sharon Hinck
Enclave Publishing
Buy the book from our store!

VIDEO: Sharon Hinck | ‘Hidden Current’

The Means That Make Us Strangers
Christine Kindberg
Bellflower Press

Also honored during the webcast was multiple Christy Award winning authors STEVEN JAMES and TAMERA ALEXANDER, who were each inducted into the Christy Award Hall of Fame for their legacy and contributions to Christian fiction. They join prior honorees James Rubart, Chris Fabry, Lynn Austin, Davis Bunn, and Karen Hancock in this highest author honor of the program. All have won at least four Christy Awards.

The Christy Award program is supported by media partner Christianity Today, and retail partners, LifeWay, Logos, Mardel, The Munce Group, NetGalley, Signature Marketing, and Amazon.

For more information about The Christy Award® program and to sign up for award and event updates for the 2021 season, go to

The Evangelical Christian Publishers Association (ECPA) is an international non-profit trade organization comprised of member companies that are involved in the publishing and distribution of Christian content worldwide. Since 1974, ECPA has strengthened Christian publishing by building networking, information, and advocacy opportunities within the industry and throughout multiple channels so that our members can more effectively produce and deliver transformational Christian content.

The Christy Award® is the foremost award honoring and promoting excellence in Christian fiction since 1999, and is named for Catherine Marshall’s novel, “Christy,” which has sold over 10 million copies since its publication in 1967. ECPA assumed ownership and administration of the award in 2017 to focus and grow the unique opportunity of fiction in Christian publishing.