Exciting New Fiction Series Follows a Family Tree through American History

Barbour Publishing has announced the launch of a one-of-a-kind new fiction series created for lovers of history, adventure, romance, and family legacy. The Daughters of the Mayflower series will follow a family tree linked by daughters across American history from the landing of the Mayflower through the events of World War II.

The 18-book series, is scheduled to release over the course of three years. It will kick off in February 2018 with The Mayflower Bride by popular author Kimberley Woodhouse. This book, which takes place in 1620, features voyages on two ships, the Speedwell and the Mayflower, and will set the stage for subsequent books with its focus on adventure, romance, and a thread of espionage that is woven throughout each of the 18 stories.

Releasing every other month by a team of well-known authors, the Daughters of the Mayflower will satisfy voracious readers of Christian fiction continuously for three years. The books are written in such a way that they can be read in succession or stand alone, making them perfect for readers interested in specific time periods in American history.

Release Schedule for First Six Books:

February 2018:

The Mayflower Bride
Kimberley Woodhouse
Setting: Atlantic Ocean and Massachusetts Bay Colony, 1620
Notable Events: The Voyage of the Mayflower

April 2018:

The Pirate Bride
Kathleen Y’Barbo
Setting: New Orleans, 1725
Notable Events: Backdrop of the former French and Spanish stronghold

June 2018:

The Captured Bride
Michelle Griep
Setting: Upper Fort Wilderness in Upstate New York, 1760
Notable Events: French and Indian War

August 2018:

The Patriot Bride
Kimberley Woodhouse
Setting: Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, and Virginia, 1774-1775
Notable Events: The Revolutionary War

October 2018:

The Cumberland Bride
Shannon McNear
Setting: Cumberland Gap, 1794
Notable Events: Settlers migrating West and conflicts with Native Americans

December 2018:

The Liberty Bride
MaryLu Tyndall
Setting: Maryland, 1812
Notable Events: The War of 1812

Check out more great articles

About The Author

Transplanted to North Dakota after more than two decades in Charleston, South Carolina, Shannon McNear loves losing herself in local history. She’s a military wife, mom of eight, mother-in-law of three, grammy of two, and a member of ACFW and RWA. Her first novella, Defending Truth in A Pioneer Christmas Collection, was a 2014 RITA® finalist. When she’s not sewing, researching, or leaking story from her fingertips, she enjoys being outdoors, basking in the beauty of the northern prairies.