Ada, MI (June 11, 2021)
On June 2, 2021, Eva Marie Everson, contest director for the Blue Ridge Mountains Christian Writers Conference, announced the 2021 Selah Award winners in a presentation that took place at the Ridgecrest Conference Center in Ridgecrest, North Carolina. Baker Publishing Group titles received twelve awards, including the 2021 Fiction Book of the Year, which was awarded to Sarah Loudin Thomas for her novel The Right Kind of Fool. Thomas’s book also received the first place award in the Historical/Biblical fiction category.

James R. Hannibal’s novel Chasing the White Lion received the Directors’ Choice award in the Fiction category and also took first place in the Mystery/Suspense Fiction category.

365 Ways to Love Your Child by Julie Lavender received the first place Directors’ Choice award in the Devotional category.

Additional winners included:

Contemporary Women’s Fiction (First Place)
On a Coastal Breeze by Suzanne Woods Fisher

Contemporary Romance Fiction (First Place)
Hadley Beckett’s Next Dish by Bethany Turner

Contemporary Romance Fiction (Second Place tie)
Two Steps Forward by Suzanne Woods Fisher

Historical Romance Fiction (Second Place)
Forever Hidden by Tracie Peterson and Kimberley Woodhouse

Historical/Biblical Fiction (Third Place tie)
Veiled in Smoke by Jocelyn Green

Historical/Biblical Fiction (Third Place tie)
Stories That Bind Us by Susie Finkbeiner

General Fiction (Third Place)
The Promised Land by Elizabeth Musser

The Selah Awards was established in 2011 on behalf of the Blue Ridge Mountains Christian Writers Conference and was designed to honor the best books in Christian publishing. For a complete list of winners, please visit

Check out more great articles

About The Author

FamilyFiction is an information hub for all fans of Christian storytelling. We offer the latest news, interviews, and upcoming releases from your favorite Christian authors and filmmakers!