Lynette Eason is the bestselling author of Collateral Damage and Acceptable Risk, as well as Protecting Tanner Hollow and the Blue Justice, Women of Justice, Deadly Reunions, Hidden Identity, and Elite Guardians series. She is the winner of three ACFW Carol Awards, the Selah Award, and the Inspirational Reader’s Choice Award, among others.

She continues her Danger Never Sleeps series with Active Defense (Revell):

A former field surgeon in Afghanistan, Heather Fontaine is used to life-or-death situations. She just didn’t expect them to follow her home. Travis Walker has been secretly watching out for her for weeks. As owner of his own security agency, it’s what he does. Together, Travis and Heather must figure out who wants her dead—and why—before it’s too late.

Bestselling and award-winning author Lynette Eason will have you looking over your shoulder as you dive into this fast-paced, suspense-filled story about losing control and finding something even better.

Lynette, your books often feature strong female characters in a variety of challenging careers. How do you hope your characters will encourage and motivate women?

I hope that the characters will come across as capable and caring. Women who can take care of themselves and others, but ones who are willing to admit they need help sometimes. They’re not perfect, they’re not indestructible, but they’re resilient and strong, and have all the characteristics we sometimes wish we had for ourselves.

I hope they help us see that it’s okay to have flaws and weaknesses. What’s not okay is allowing those flaws and weaknesses to hold us back or define our future. We can overcome all of that by relying on God and trusting Him to take care of us, to get us through the tough times.

Heather Fontaine, the female protagonist, is a former field surgeon in Afghanistan. What type of research was required to accurately portray her profession?

Fortunately, I have a lot of friends in the medical profession and I have quite a few friends in the military. So, between the two, and a lot of online reading, I believe I was able to capture the essence of the profession in a realistic way for my readers.

Active Defense is third in the Danger Never Sleeps series. How do the books in the series tie together?

The books tie together through four friends who met while they were in the military. Once they’re discharged, they all move to the same area of the country and continue their friendship while teaming up with the men in their lives to fight the bad guys.

Besides providing a fast-paced, suspense-filled entertaining read, what do you hope readers can learn from Active Defense?

One of the biggest takeaways in this story is that no matter what your past is, it doesn’t define your future.

When your novels juggle elements of faith, romance, and suspense, what do you consider the best recipe for an inspirational romantic suspense story?

I think a definite balance is necessary to create a story that readers want to finish—and hopefully, revisit at some point in the future. From some of the feedback I get, it seems a lot of my readers really enjoy the suspense aspect of the stories more than anything else. They like the romance thread and are happy to have the faith element in there.

I also get a lot of comments about appreciating the clean reads. But, above all, they REALLY like that high-octane suspense. So, that’s what I tend to lean toward when I’m working on the stories—making it as suspenseful as possible.

Visit Lynette Eason’s author page here:

Active Defense
Danger Never Sleeps #3
Lynette Eason
Buy the book from our store!

Check out more great articles

About The Author

Lynette Eason is the bestselling author of several romantic suspense series. She is the winner of three ACFW Carol Awards, the Selah Award, and the Inspirational Reader's Choice Award, among others. She is a graduate of the University of South Carolina and has a master's degree in education from Converse College. Eason lives in South Carolina with her husband and two children.