Suzanne Woods Fisher is an award-winning, bestselling Christian fiction author. She has published more than 30 books, including The Moonlight School and Three Sisters Island, Nantucket Legacy, Amish Beginnings, The Bishop’s Family, The Deacon’s Family, and The Inn at Eagle Hill Series. She is also the author of several nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace and Amish Proverbs.

In this interview, Suzanne talks about the first book in her new Cape Cod Creamery Series, titled The Sweet Life.

FF: Can you please provide a brief summary of your new novel, The Sweet Life?
It’s a story of a mother and daughter, both in need of a fresh start, buying a weary old ice cream shop on Cape Cod. Actually, the mom buys it. The daughter has to figure out how to turn the shop from a money pit into a successful business.

FF: The Sweet Life is the first book in your Cape Cod Creamery Series. How will the books in this series tie together?
The transformation of the ice cream shop is the story arc that holds the book together . . . hopefully without first melting down.

FF: Why did you choose Cape Cod as the setting for your book?
My dad grew up on Buzzards Bay. His two older brothers became dentists and had their practice on the Cape. It’s always held a piece of our family heart.

FF: The female protagonist’s mother, Marnie Dixon, purchases a run-down ice cream shop. Please tell readers why you decided to center your new series around an ice cream shop.
My husband is an ice cream maker! He attended Penn State’s Ice Cream School (yes, there is such a thing). The top shelves of my entire kitchen are filled with ice-cream-making paraphernalia. My editor has tasted some of my husband’s ice cream. She’s the one who said she wanted a story that included ice cream. Well, I thought, here it comes!

FF: You have some interesting characters in your new novel. Do you have a favorite character?
There’s a kindergarten boy named Leo who dresses like a cowboy and has a knack for turning up in the shop just as freshly churned ice cream is ready for sampling. I love that little boy.

FF: What do you hope readers will gain from reading The Sweet Life?
Oh, mothers and daughters. Everyone knows how complicated those relationships can be, and yet the bond is so tightly woven. Marnie and Dawn couldn’t be more opposite, but their differences are surprisingly complementary—if only they can learn to accept each other. Now, that’s a life lesson we all need.

FF: What do you love most about writing novels in the contemporary romance genre?
The relevance! While they’re fictitious, these stories also speak to the problems occurring in everyone’s life. We all have hopes and dreams and disappointments. It’s fun to let my characters be the one’s trying to find answers.

The Sweet Life
Cape Cod Creamery Series #1
Suzanne Woods Fisher
Genres: Romance, Contemporary
Release Date: May 3, 2022

ISBN-10: ‎ 0800739477
ISBN-13: ‎ 978-0800739478

Book Summary:
Dawn Dixon can hardly believe she’s on a groomless honeymoon on beautiful Cape Cod…with her mother. Sure, Marnie Dixon is good company, but Dawn was supposed to be here with Kevin, the love of her life (or so she thought).

Marnie Dixon needs some time away from the absolute realness of life as much as her jilted daughter does, and she’s not about to let her only child suffer alone—even if Marnie herself had been doing precisely that for the past month.

Given the circumstances, maybe it was inevitable that Marnie would do something as rash as buy a run-down ice-cream shop in the town’s tightly regulated historic district. After all, everything’s better with ice cream.

Her exasperated daughter knows that she’s the one who will have to clean up this mess. Even when her mother’s impulsive real estate purchase brings Kevin back into her life, Dawn doesn’t get her hopes up. Everyone knows that broken romances stay broken…don’t they?

Welcome to a summer of sweet surprises on Cape Cod—a place where dreams just might come true.


Buy The Sweet Life from the FF Store HERE!


Buy The Sweet Life from Amazon HERE!

Check out more great articles

About The Author

Suzanne Woods Fisher is an award-winning, bestselling author of more than two dozen novels, including novels in the Amish Beginnings series, The Bishop's Family series, and The Inn at Eagle Hill series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish. She lives in California.