In her second Where the Heart Lives novel, Betrayal
(Zondervan), Robin Lee Hatcher takes readers to the
high desert of western Wyoming at the turn of the
20th century, penning a story of forgiveness. Robin
shares, “To be betrayed by someone we should be
able to trust—a spouse, a parent, a friend—is a tough
thing to forgive; but unforgiveness doesn’t hurt the
one who did the betraying. It hurts the betrayed. In
the case of my characters, Hugh and Julia, the people
who betrayed them are deceased; but the wounds
still linger. Before they can move on and learn to trust
again, they must let go of the hurt, and part of letting
go is forgiving. It’s helpful to remember forgiveness
is not a feeling. It’s a choice. It’s an act of obedience to
a command of Christ.”

Check out more great articles

About The Author

Best-selling novelist Robin Lee Hatcher is known for her heartwarming and emotionally charged stories of faith, courage, and love. The recipient of Lifetime Achievement Awards from both RWA and ACFW and winner of the Christy, RITA, and numerous other awards, Robin has authored over 75 books. When not writing, she enjoys being with her family, spending time in the beautiful Idaho outdoors, Bible art journaling, reading books that make her cry, watching romantic movies, knitting prayer shawls, and decorative planning. Robin and her husband make their home on the outskirts of Boise.