Chivalrous knights, devout priests, and courageous peasants. Swordplay, adventure, danger and superstition. Medieval history is fertile soil for storytellers and the following authors make the most of those great elements in their books…

Stephen Lawhead
Stephen Lawhead has been penning medieval stories since the 1980s including the beloved Pendragon Cycle and The Celtic Crusades. Most recently he took on medieval legend Robin Hood, in the King Raven trilogy (Thomas Nelson) of Hood, Scarlet and Tuck.

Lisa T. Bergren
Prolific author Lisa T. Bergren first ventured into medieval fiction with her Gifted series (Berkley) and has returned to 14th century Italy with her excellent YA River of Time series including Waterfall, Cascade and Torrent (David C. Cook).

DeAnna Julie Dodson
DeAnna Julie Dodson’s 1990s medieval romance series is available to a new audience. Look for In Honor Bound, By Love Redeemed and To Grace Surrendered (Crossway Books), now available on Kindle.

Kathleen Morgan
Award winning author Kathleen Morgan has been an enthusiastic writer of Scottish medieval romances including her These Highland Hills trilogy and stand-alone novels, As High As the Heavens (Revell), Embrace the Dawn and Consuming Fire (Tyndale).

Mel Starr
Medieval medicine, murder and mystery mark each of Mel Starr’s novels featuring medieval surgeon, Hugh de Singleton. A Trail of Ink, the third in this intriguing series is available now from Kregel with Unhallowed Ground to release in January, 2012.

Linda Windsor
Fascinated by medieval history, Linda Windsor penned her Gleannmara series (Waterbrook Multnomah) a decade ago and has followed up with the excellent Brides of Alba series (David C. Cook) including Healer, Thief and Rebel (2012).

Dina Sleiman
Debut novelist Dina Sleiman has penned a medieval coming-of-age story about a young girl yearning for more than her peasant upbringing can deliver. Dance of the Dandelion (WhiteFire) is available now.

Angela Hunt
Angela Hunt’s Theyn Chronicles series (Tyndale), set in medieval England and Ireland, is now available on Kindle. Afton of Margate Castle, The Troubador’s Quest and Ingram of the Irish combine history, romance and adventure.

Linda Wichman
Linda Wichman’s Legend of the Emerald Rose (Kregel), a take on the Arthurian legend, was ACFW Book of the Year, a Christy nominee and RWA Faith, Hope and Love finalist. Shadoe and Rayn battle evil and each other in an effort to save the Isle of Might.

Carol Umberger
Set in 14th century Scotland during the reign of Robert the Bruce, Carol Umberger’s Scottish Crown series celebrates adventure, history, courage and love. The four book series includes Circle of Honor and The Promise of Peace (Integrity).

Check out more great articles

About The Author

Carol Umberger won the 2001 Golden Heart Award from the Romance Writers of America in the Best Short Historical category for her manuscript Circle of Honor, the first volume in The Scottish Crown Series. A twelve-year veteran of the United States Air Force, Carol has been married more than twenty years and has two sons.