Irene Hannon is the bestselling author of more than sixty novels, including the long-running Hope Harbor Series, as well as Labyrinth of Lies, Point of Danger and the Code of Honor, Private Justice, and Men of Valor suspense series, among others. Her books have been honored with three coveted RITA Awards from Romance Writers of America, and she is a member of that organization’s elite Hall of Fame. Her many other awards include National Readers’ Choice, Daphne du Maurier, Retailers’ Choice, Booksellers’ Best, Carol, and Reviewers’ Choice from RT Book Reviews magazine, which also honored her with a Career Achievement Award for her entire body of work. In addition, she is a two-time Christy Award finalist.

In this interview, Irene shares some of her thoughts on her latest novel, Sea Glass Cottage.

FF: Can you please provide a brief description of your new novel, Sea Glass Cottage?
At its core, this is a reunion story about forgiveness and second chances.

FF: Sea Glass Cottage is your eighth book set in the fictional seaside town of Hope Harbor, Oregon. Why did you choose this location?
I’ve always considered seaside locations to be romantic, so I knew when I developed the concept for this series that it would be a small-town setting on the ocean. I’d seen photos of the Oregon coast, with its dramatic scenery, and I thought it would provide the perfect backdrop for my stories. So I made a visit, traveling the coast from top to bottom, and knew I’d found the home for Hope Harbor.

FF: What was the inspiration for your new novel?
I wanted to explore the question of whether people can truly change at a deep, fundamental level. This story gave me an opportunity to delve into that in both the primary and secondary plots.

FF: How do your come up with fresh new plots for each of your Hope Harbor Series novels?
Excellent question . . . and one which allows me to point out that each plot in the Hope Harbor Series is unique and that every book can be read as standalone novel. There are no hanging plot threads from book to book. The link is the town. As for fresh plots—someone once asked me how I could write so many romance novels without repeating myself, and my reply was that every love story is unique. There are always different challenges to overcome and different personalities at play in relationships. It’s just a matter of finding a plot that allows me to explore my characters. The different personalities involved are what keep the books fresh.

FF: The town of Hope Harbor has some fun characters that continue to make their appearances throughout all of your Hope Harbor novels. Do you have a favorite character?
I love all my characters, including the secondary ones, in Hope Harbor. But I can tell you that Charley Lopez, the taco-making artist and town sage, is the one who’s captured readers’ fancy the world over. I’ve received more comments and emails about him than all of the other characters in my 60+ novels combined. He has truly become a beloved icon.

FF: What do you hope readers will experience when reading Sea Glass Cottage?
I hope they’ll be swept away to my special town for hours of enjoyment—and that they finish the book filled with hope . . . and with a greater appreciation for the tremendous power of love (and not just romantic love) to transform lives.

FF: What are you working on next?
Next up will be Book 3 in my Triple Threat Series (suspense series), coming in October 2022. Beyond that—more Hope Harbor books and a new suspense series debuting in 2023!

Sea Glass Cottage
Hope Harbor Series #8
Irene Hannon
Genres: Romance
Release Date: April 5, 2022

ISBN-10: ‎ 0800736168
ISBN-13: ‎ 978-0800736163

Book Summary:
Christi Reece is desperate. The one-time golden girl’s life has tarnished, and a cascade of setbacks has left her reeling. She needs help, and she’s certain Jack Colby is in a position to provide it.

When she shows up in Hope Harbor, however, Jack wants nothing to do with the woman who betrayed him. He’s built a new life on the Oregon coast–and there’s no room in it for Christi, even after she takes refuge in a charming but mysterious cottage nearby. Yet it soon becomes apparent his opinion of her may need revising . . . especially when he ends up needing her help.

Can these two hurting souls make peace with their past and open their hearts to a new beginning?

Come home to Hope Harbor–where hearts heal . . . and love blooms.

Bestselling and award-winning author Irene Hannon delivers another heartwarming and romantic story set in the enchanting seaside community of Hope Harbor that is loved by readers the world over. Once you visit, you’ll never want to leave.


Buy Sea Glass Cottage from the FF Store HERE!


Buy Sea Glass Cottage from Amazon HERE!

Check out more great articles

About The Author

Irene Hannon is the bestselling and award-winning author of more than fifty contemporary romance and romantic suspense novels, including Dangerous Illusions, as well as the Men of Valor, Heroes of Quantico, Guardians of Justice, and Private Justice series. In addition to her many other honors, she is a three-time winner of the prestigious RITA Award from Romance Writers of America. She is also a member of RWA's elite Hall of Fame and has received a Career Achievement Award from RT Book Reviews. Each of her suspense novels have been ECPA/CBA bestsellers.