The members of FamilyFiction‘s Christian Romance Book Club have voted–and the August featured book is the romantic suspense title Collateral Damage by Lynette Eason. Want to join the conversation? Start reading the book now, because the discussion begins inside the Facebook group August 1.

Not a member yet? Join the group here: Christian Romance Book Club presented by FamilyFiction


Collateral Damage
Danger Never Sleeps #1
Lynette Eason

Honorably discharged from the Army after an explosion nearly killed her, former military psychiatrist Brooke Adams has set up shop to help others–but her days of helping military personnel are over. She’s got her own battles to fight from her time overseas, and she’s not equipped to take on more.

Former Army Special Ops Sergeant First Class Asher James could handle anything that war sent his way–terrorists, bombs, bullets. The only thing that scares him now is sleep. As the shadows close in, the nightmares begin.

Finally convinced that he needs help, Asher makes an appointment with a counselor, and Brooke is pressed by her boss to take him on. When he arrives at her office she isn’t there–but a dead body is. Brooke is devastated when she walks in, and Asher is a conveniently strong shoulder to cry on. But she can’t take him on as a client after sharing such an intimate and unprofessional moment, can she? And he’s not sure he can handle sharing his deepest fears with such a beautiful woman.

When it becomes clear that Brooke was the real target of the attack–and that her secrets go even deeper than his own–Asher vows to protect her no matter what.

Collateral Damage is the first book in the Danger Never Sleeps series, which will include four books. Lynette explains what ties the series together:

The books are connected via four friends who met while in the military. The series follows their lives and adventures and the men they meet—and fall in love with—along the way.

Collateral Damage deals with post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). Lynette explains the research she did to write about this subject:

I talked to a number of people about this disorder. Most people who have it don’t really like to discuss it. However, some people are more open—especially those who want to make sure the disorder is represented correctly. I also talked to those who had loved ones who suffered from PTSD, and they were able to give me pointers on how to make sure my story reflected it accurately.

Buy this book from our store!


Photo © Mary Denman


Lynette Eason is the bestselling author of Collateral Damage and Acceptable Risk, as well as Protecting Tanner Hollow and the Blue Justice, Women of Justice, Deadly Reunions, Hidden Identity, and Elite Guardians series. She is the winner of three ACFW Carol Awards, the Selah Award, and the Inspirational Reader’s Choice Award, among others.

Lynette Eason’s Danger Never Sleeps: New Series Filled with Suspense, Intrigue, and Romance
Lynette Eason’s Romantic Suspense ‘Collateral Damage’ Debuts PW Top 5
40 Essential Christian Romance Authors – 2020 Edition
Suspense Panel: Writing Crime Fiction as Christian Authors
40 Essential Christian Suspense Authors – 2019 Edition
Lynette Eason Interview: Out of the Dark

Check out more great articles

About The Author

Lynette Eason is the bestselling author of several romantic suspense series. She is the winner of three ACFW Carol Awards, the Selah Award, and the Inspirational Reader's Choice Award, among others. She is a graduate of the University of South Carolina and has a master's degree in education from Converse College. Eason lives in South Carolina with her husband and two children.