Bestselling Amish author Wanda Brunstetter invites readers to return to Holmes County, Ohio, with The Celebration (Shiloh Run Press), the third and final installment in her Amish Cooking Class series. Also releasing this month is The Amish Cooking Class Cookbook (Shiloh Run Press), featuring more than 200 recipes related to the Amish Cooking Class series. In this exclusive Q&A, Wanda shares about life lessons in The Celebration, her favorite recipes from the cookbook, and the brand-new series she’s working on now…

What are some of the main themes in The Celebration, and what new challenges do the Troyers face?

Some of the main themes in The Celebration are developing closer family ties; dealing with a lack of self-esteem; and acceptance of others. One of the biggest challenges Heidi and Lyle Troyer face is helping their foster children adjust to the loss of their parents.

What are a couple of the biggest life lessons that readers will find in The Celebration?

Two of the life lessons readers will find in The Celebration are the importance of family and the benefits of working together with others who might be different from you.

Did you learn anything interesting in your research for the Amish Cooking Class series?

I learned some interesting facts about adoption and foster care—particularly within the state of Ohio, where this series is set.

What was the most challenging part of writing the series?

The most challenging, yet enjoyable part of writing this series was in having so many characters with different storylines and problems they had to deal with.

Tell us a little about the Amish Cooking Class Cookbook and how it relates to the series. What are a couple of your favorite recipes from the book?

The Amish Cooking Class Cookbook includes all of the recipes Heidi Troyer taught her students in each of the three books that make up the Amish Cooking Class series. It also includes favorite recipes from each of the students who attended the class. Two of my favorite recipes from this cookbook are: Amish Friendship Bread and Chicken in a Crumb Basket.

What can readers expect next from you?

My next release is The Hawaiian Discovery, which I co-authored with my daughter-in-law, Jean. It’s a sequel to The Hawaiian Quilt and will be published in June 2018. And, I am currently working on the first book of a brand new three-book series entitled The Prayer Jars. Book One, The Hope Jar, will release in August 2018.

Visit Wanda E. Brunstetter’s author page here:

The Celebration (Amish Cooking Class #3)
Shiloh Run Press

The Amish Cooking Class Cookbook
Shiloh Run Press

Check out more great articles

About The Author

New York Times bestselling and award-winning author, Wanda E. Brunstetter is one of the founders of the Amish fiction genre. She has written more than 100 books, with more than 11 million copies sold, Wanda's stories consistently earn spots on the nations most prestigious bestseller lists and have received numerous awards. Wanda’s ancestors were part of the Anabaptist faith, and her novels are based on personal research intended to accurately portray the Amish way of life. Her books are well-read and trusted by many Amish, who credit her for giving readers a deeper understanding of the people and their customs. When Wanda visits her Amish friends, she finds herself drawn to their peaceful lifestyle, sincerity, and close family ties. Wanda enjoys photography, ventriloquism, gardening, bird-watching, beachcombing, and spending time with her family. She and her husband, Richard, have been blessed with two grown children, six grandchildren, and two great-grandchildren.