(Atlanta, GA) — At the 2011 International Christian Retail Show, in a press conference hosted by American Christian Fiction Writers and Christian Booksellers of America, ACFW proudly announced the finalists in the Carol Awards. The Carol Awards evolved from ACFW’s Book of the Year Awards to honor the highest achievement for published authors of Christian fiction. The 2011 Carol Award winners in each category will be announced at ACFW’s Awards Gala on Saturday, September 24, 2011 at the annual conference in St. Louis, Missouri.

Honoring excellence in Christian fiction of all genres, American Christian Fiction Writers announces the Carol Award finalists:

Debut Author:

The Preacher’s Bride
by Jody Hedlund (Bethany House)
Crossing Oceans by Gina Holmes (Tyndale Publishers)
Rooms by James L. Rubart (B&H Publishing)

Long Contemporary:

The Choice
by Suzanne Woods Fisher (Revell)

Red Ink
by Kathi Macias (New Hope Publishers)
Never Say Never by Lisa Wingate (Bethany House)

Long Contemporary Romance:

Plain Jayne
by Hillary Manton Lodge (Harvest House)
Anna’s Return by Marta Perry (Berkley)
Plain Paradise by Beth Wiseman (Thomas Nelson)

Long Historical:

Here Burns My Candle by Liz Curtis Higgs (Waterbrook Press)
Petra: City in Stone by T.L. Higley (B&H Publishing)

Sons of Thunder
by Susan May Warren (Summerside Press)

Long Historical Romance:

The Husband Tree
by Mary Connealy (Barbour)
Love Finds You In Homestead, Iowa by Melanie Dobson (Summerside)
Courting Morrow Little by Laura Frantz (Revell)

Mirrored Image by Alice K. Arenz (Sheaf House)

Muslin Mystery
by Vera Dodge (Guideposts)
The Camera Never Lies by Elizabeth Goddard (Barbour)

The Prodigal Groom by Vickie McDonough (Barbour)
Ride With Me Into Christmas by Rachael Phillips (Barbour)
A Trusting Heart by Carrie Turansky (Barbour)

Romantic Suspense:
The Silent Order by Melanie Dobson (Summerside Press)
Don’t Look Back by Lynette Eason (Revell)
Pursuit of Justice by DiAnn Mills (Tyndale Publishers)

Short Contemporary:
The Wedding Garden by Linda Goodnight (Love Inspired)
A Father for Zach by Irene Hannon (Love Inspired)
Winter’s End by Ruth Logan Herne (Love Inspired)

Short Contemporary Suspense:

Night Prey
by Sharon Dunn (Love Inspired Suspense)
Legacy of Lies by Jill Elizabeth Nelson (Love Inspired Suspense)
Firestorm by Kelly Ann Riley (Love Inspired Suspense)

Short Historical:

Her Healing Ways
by Lyn Cote (Love Inspired)
Promise of Tomorrow by S. Dionne Moore (Barbour)

The Columns of Cottonwood
by Sandra Robbins (Barbour)

Speculative Fiction:

The Wolf of Tebron
by C. S. Lakin (AMG Publishers)
Rooms by James L. Rubart (B&H Publishing)
König’s Fire by Marc Schooley (Marcher Lord Press)


by Terri Blackstock (Zondervan)
Fear No Evil by Robin Caroll (B&H Publishing)

Medical Error
by Richard L. Mabry (Abingdon Press)

Women’s Fiction:

Beaded Hope
by Cathy Liggett (Tyndale Publishers)
They Almost Always Come Home by Cynthia Ruchti (Abingdon)
Beyond Summer by Lisa Wingate (NAL)

Young Adult:

Anything But Normal
by Melody Carlson (Revell)
Healer’s Apprentice by Melanie Dickerson (Zonderkidz)
Katy’s New World by Kim Vogel Sawyer (Zonderkidz)

American Christian Fiction Writers is devoted to training its writers, educating them in the market, and serving as an advocate in the traditional Christian fiction publishing industry. With more than 2500 members and 29 local chapters in 18 states, as well as a beyond-the-borders e-chapter, ACFW speaks as The Voice of Christian Fiction. For more information about ACFW and the upcoming conference, visit ACFW.com.

Check out more great articles