Chris Fabry inducted into Christy Award Hall of Fame, awards handed out in nine fiction categories

Becky Wade’s novel True to You (Bethany House) won in two categories–Book of the Year and Contemporary Romance–at the 2018 Christy Award Gala. Also honored during the evening celebration, was five-time Christy Award winning author Chris Fabry, who was inducted into the Christy Award Hall of Fame for his legacy and contributions to Christian fiction.

Finding the answers they’re seeking will test the limits of their identity, their faith, and their devotion to one another…
Enter for your chance to win:


Presented by the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association (ECPA), the event featured bestselling authors Francine Rivers, Charles Martin, Carla Laureano, and Cynthia Ruchti. There was also a tribute to the storytelling legacy of Madeleine L’Engle. The annual Christy Award celebrates excellence in the art of Christian Fiction and to honor the power of faith in story.

Pictured from left: ECPA’s Stan Jantz with winning authors Laura Gallier, Michelle Griep, Laura Frantz, Jaime Jo Wright, Valerie Fraser Luesse, Mesu Andrews, Becky Wade, and Chris Fabry.  PHOTO CREDIT: Kristen Fields,

Here’s the full list of awards handed out!

Book of the Year
True to You
Becky Wade
(Bethany House)

Contemporary Romance
True to You
Becky Wade
(Bethany House)

Because I write heartwarming and humorous romances, I always hope that readers will close the final page of my books with a happy sigh and a smile. In this particular case, the theme of True to You is truth. I’m praying the Lord will use this story to remind readers of the fact that their true identity is, was, and always will be in Him.
Becky Wade [Q&A: Becky Wade (True to You)]

First Novel
Missing Isaac
Valerie Fraser Luesse


General Fiction
Life After
Katie Ganshert

Isaiah’s Daughter
Mesu Andrews



Historical Romance
The Lacemaker
Laura Frantz



The House on Foster Hill
Jaime Jo Wright
(Bethany House)



Short Form
12 Days at Bleakly Manor
Michelle Griep
(Barbour Publishing)



The Man He Never Was
James Rubart
(Thomas Nelson)


Young Adult
The Delusion
Laura Gallier



2018 Christy Award Hall of Fame Inductee
Chris Fabry

What I see myself doing is the same thing the prophet Nathan did when he approached King David. David had sinned greatly—but the prophet told him a story that made him angry and want to judge the unkind protagonist. The story slipped around the back door of his heart and when he let it in, it convicted him because it showed him truth in a different way than simply didactic teaching.
Chris Fabry [Chris Fabry — The Sky’s the Limit]

“At a time when people are longing for stories of hope, The Christy Award honors those authors whose excellent work proclaims the essence of hope because they tell the truth about life,” said ECPA president Stan Jantz. “Congratulations to those authors and their publishers whose novels were recognized for telling those stories especially well.”

The evening capped off two days of events that helped inspire, train and encourage those established in the publishing industry as well as those aspiring to break into the market as writers, authors, or business leaders:

  • ECPA PubU was held as a training and connection event for the Christian publishing professional.
  • The Art of Writing Conference was created to build community and explore the leading questions and pressing issues facing creators and curators.

For more information about The Christy Award™ program and to sign up for award and event updates for the 2019 season, go to where complete information can be found.

Lineup for Christy Award Gala / Art of Writing Conference 
Christy Award 2018 Finalists Named 
2017 Christy Winners: Charles Martin wins ‘Book of the Year’
Chris Fabry — The Sky’s the Limit
Becky Wade—Romantic At Heart
Romance Q&A: Laura Frantz (The Lacemaker)
Historical Q&A: Mesu Andrews (Isaiah’s Daughter)
Contemporary Q&A: Katie Ganshert (No One Ever Asked)
Excerpt: ‘The Reckoning at Gossamer Pond’ by Jaime Jo Wright
James L. Rubart – The War Inside

Check out more great articles

About The Author

Becky Wade is a native of California who attended Baylor University, met and married a Texan, and now lives in Dallas. A favorite among readers of Christian contemporary romance, Becky has won a Carol Award, an Inspirational Reader's Choice Award, and an INSPY Award.